top of page
Search

Make a Monster

This week, my class worked on the art element of Texture. To start, I had the class look around the room and think about what types of textures they saw around them. They came up with tons of ideas such as a stuffed monkey was fuzzy, the grass was soft, the carpet was bumpy, the poster on the wall was smooth, a cactus is pointy etc. I then showed them how to draw 4 of these textures that they could use in their drawings. They practiced them on pieces of paper and were then able to incorporate it into a drawing. It was halloween this week, so I thought it would be fun for them to draw monsters. They were told to get as create with their monster as they wanted, but they needed to use at least two textures. I absolutely loved the results. Everyone was able to use texture successfully in their monsters and they had a ton of fun with it. They were then able to think of creative ways they could incorporate these texture into their comics. I saw kids come up with textured clothing, different hair textures, grass, rocks, and so many other ideas. I also noticed them incorporating elements that we had worked on in previous weeks. One student showed me how he colored his character green because he was feeling confused, a handful of other students continued to use line in their different types of text boxes, and many of the students continue to use shapes to draw their people. I am seeing a lot of improvement in their drawings already, and I am excited to look at the improvement in their drawings from their first comic page to their final comic page.



Below is a link to this week's lesson plan


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page